Llosa: Nobel Prize in Literature

Photo: Ulla Montan/Norstedts

This week, Mario Vargas Llosa won the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature. Llosa, a Peruvian novelist, essayist, and playwright, is one of the most highly acclaimed authors in the Spanish-speaking world. As a South American winner, Llosa follows Colombian Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who received the prize back in 1982.

According to the Nobel Foundation, Llosa won “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt, and defeat.

In addition to training in law and literature, Llosa also made an unsuccessful bid for the presidency of Peru in 1990. He is currently teaching at Princeton University. Llosa is best known for works like The Time of the Hero, a controversial novel based on his experiences in a military academy in Peru.

For more information, see this article from NPR. You can also visit Llosa’s website at www.mvargasllosa.com.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: